BSFS, Inc.
Balticon 47
If you use one of these links you might be leaving the Baltimore Science Fiction Society's site.
BSFS, Inc. is not responsible for the content of sites to which we link.
We hope they might contain something to amuse or illuminate you, but we do not control them.
If you feel the link might be inappropriate, let us know at: "webmeister at bsfs dot org"
  Balticon 47 Banner Small

DATE: May 24-27, 2013
Hunt Valley Inn MD
Hunt Valley MD

Balticon 47 Program Book:
      Read the Balticon 47 Pocket Program A.K.A Schedule of Events

      Read the Balticon 47 Rocket Mail Friday Edition at Con Updates and News

      Read the Balticon 47 Rocket Mail Saturday Edition at Con Updates and News

      Read the Balticon 47 Rocket Mail Sunday Edition at Con Updates and News

      Read the Balticon 47 Rocket Mail Monday Edition at Con Updates and News
  • GoH: Joe Haldeman
  • ART GoH: Rick Sternbach
  • Music GoH: Ada Palmer
  • Featured Musical Group: Sassafrass with the premiere of SUNDOWN!!
  • Special Guest of Honor: Nnedi Okorafor
  • 2012 Compton Crook Award Winner: T. C. McCarthy
  • 2013 Heinlein Award Winners: Yoji Kondo & Allen Steel

  • 2013 COMPTON CROOK WINNER: Myke Cole
  • 2013 COMPTON CROOK BOOK: Shadow Ops: Control Point: Published by Ace

  • Balticon 47 Committee & Staff:
    • Balticon 47 Chair: Patti Kinlock
    • Balticon Vice-Chair: Kelly Shannon Pierce
    • Balticon Treasurer: Shirley Avery
    • Anime Room Coordinator: Kathreja Sarfati
    • Art Program: Halla Fleischer
    • Assistant Art Program: Jonette Butler
    • Art Program Tech Manager: Eric “Dr. Gandalf ” Fleischer
    • Art Show Villainess: Nora Echeverria
    • Art Show Auctioneer: Eric “Dr. Gandalf ” Fleischer
    • Art Show Chancellor: Martin Deutsch
    • Art Show Queen Emeritus: Shirley Avery
    • Artist Alley: Tristan Alexander
    • Charity Auction Coordinator: Kelly Shannon Pierce
    • Assistant Charity Auction Coordinator: Jim Wilmering
    • Charity Auction Auctioneer: Eric “Dr Gandalf ” Fleischer
    • Books for Kids Liaison: Marty Gear
    • Children’s Program Coordinators: Eta Hack
    • Children’s Program Assistants: Sue Bowen, Miriam Winder-Kelly
    • Compton Crook Administration Committee: Jonette Butler, Donna Dearborn, Nora Echeverria
    • Kamikaze Computer Services: Mark Schleifer, Craig Forbes, Jay Forbes, Dan Brashler, Megan Schleifer, Elspeth Dodge, Jay Clark, Jeff McOrmond
    • Con-Suite Coordinator: Leigh Eirich
    • Costuming Program Coordinator: Lisa Ashton
    • Dealers’ Room (Head Hucksters): Larry Sands, Kathy Kasprzak
    • Fan Tables Coordinator: Liz Lewis
    • Filk & Other Musical Mayhem: “Gorgeous” Gary Ehrlich
    • Film Festival Director/Coordinator: Jonette Butler
    • Assistant Film Festival Coordinator: Lance Oszko
    • Hal Haag Memorial Game Room: Donna Dearborn
    • Game Room Assistant: Michelle Hymowitz
    • Gaming Program Coordinator: Michelle Hymowitz
    • Guest of Honor Liaison Coordinator: Adrienne Reynolds
    • Guest of Honor Liaisons: Joseph Ward, Anna Tamadong, Romeo Capriotti, Caitlin Reyenolds, Alex Reynolds, Galia Godel, Gary Ehrlich, Brian Butler
    • Hall Costume Awards: Brian Butler
    • Hotel Liaison: Ann Marie Rudolph
    • Hotel Liaison Staff: Art Blumberg, Peter Eirich
    • Hotel Negotiator: Peter Eirich
    • Information Desk Coordinator: Patti Kinlock
    • Information Desk/ Sales Table Staff: Kenn Breckenridge, Sharessa Elliott, Sydney Yelity-Paul, Sue Cochran, Carol Reynolds, Antigonus Jarrett
    • Jack L. Chalker Young Writers' Contest Coordinators: Marty Gear, Miriam Winder-Kelly
    • LARP Coordinators: Miriam “Emi” Steiner, Karen Miden
    • Litterary Program Editor: Danielle Ackley-McPhail
    • Loadmaster: Martin Deutsch
    • Logistics Coordinator: Brian Butler
    • Masquerade Coordinator/MC: Marty Gear
    • Masquerade Green Room: Cindy Shockey
    • Masquerade Caller: Larry Schroder
    • New & Popular Media: Patrick Scaffido
    • New & Popular Media Assistants: Rob Stauffer and Bruce Lerner
    • Balticon Podcast: Patrick Scaffido
    • Operations & Security Commander: Moria Trent
    • Operations & Security Lt. Commander: Erin Hudgins
    • Party Coordinator: Liz Lewis
    • Poetry Workshop Coordinators: Vonnie Winslow Crist, Katie Hartlove
    • Poetry Contest Judges 2013: Vonnie Winslow Crist, Katie Hartlove, Wendy Hellier Stevens
    • Program Coordinator: Michael Rafferty
    • Program Assistant: Jonette Butler
    • Program Track Head Emeritus/Idea Generator: Jul Owings
    • Literary & Fannish Program Track Head: Jonette Butler
    • Program Participants’ Green Room: Perrianne Lurie
    • Publicity & Public Relations Coordinator: Sue Wheeler
    • Press Relations Assistant: Alexandra A. Kelly
    • Promotional and Event DVDs: Eric “Dr. Gandalf ” Fleischer
    • Publications Coordinator: Patti Kinlock
    • BSFAN Editor: Patti Kinlock
    • Flyers: Patti Kinlock, Nora Echeverria
    • Pocket Program/ Program Grid: Jonette Butler, Michael Rafferty, Patti Kinlock, Gwen Fireman
    • Rocket Mail: Dale Arnold
    • Raffle Basket: Kathy Kasprzak
    • Registration Coordinator: Megan Allen-Kingsland
    • Assistant Registration Coordinator: Lee Anne Dinkin
    • Registration Computer Services: Mark Schleifer
    • Sassafras Wrangler: Mark Roth
    • Science Program Scheduling: Miriam Winder-Kelly
    • Science Program Tech: Paul Loeschke
    • Science Program Tech Staff: Paul Loeschke, Ed Germroth, Dana Carson
    • Special Needs Coordinator: Paul O’Neil and Ellen Montgomery
    • Sponsorships Coordinator: Jonette Butler
    • Teen Program Coordinator: Eta Hack
    • Technical Director: Eric Gasior
    • Assistant Technical Director: Samuel Kopel
    • Lighting Designer: Liana Olear
    • Program AV: Joseph Averett
    • Sound Designer: Matt Klein
    • Video (Tech): Eric “Dr. Gandalf ” Fleischer
    • Masquerade Setup: The dozens of others behind the scenes. With special thanks to Jim Housell & Persis Thorndike.
    • Video Room: Thomas “The Red” Horman
    • Volunteer Coordinators: Brian Butler, Rodger Burns
    • Webmaster Team: Jonette Butler, Eric “Hymie” Hymowitz, Nora Echeverria
    • Jack L. Chalker Young Writers’ Contest Coordinators: Marty Gear, Miriam Winder-Kelly
    • JLC Young Writers’ Contest Assistant: Michelle Rosenberg
    • Writers’ Workshop: Steve Lubs

  • Balticon 47 Ancecdotes and stuff: If you have any information concerning this convention that you would like to see included here, please send it to "webmeister at bsfs dot org" and look for it to be published here!!
    backtoindex Button

    Do you want to shop for books or gift items??
    Do you want to Help BSFS at the same time?
    Click here to go shopping @ Amazon.
    at bsfs dot org"
    to Top
    This site brought to you by
    The Baltimore Science Fiction
    Society, Inc.
    Site Meter
    BWSMOF Logo
    Created on - 5/30/2008
    all maintenance is performed by:
    "webmeister at bsfs dot org"
    using arachnophilia Arachnophilia
    BSFS Banner by Ed Edman
    Version DA-08 - 5/28/2013
    Free BSD Plug
    plug for apache
    "Hugo Award", "Worldcon", and "NASFiC" are service marks of the
    World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary association.
    "Balticon" is a service mark of the Baltimore Science Fiction Society, Inc.